#feministfriday episode 466 | attention and success

Good afternoon lovely people,

Two links about work today, one super fun and inspiring and the other very funny but also intensely mean spirited. They're both about work though, work is the theme.

As you know probably, I'm a mega fan of Aubrey Gordon's podcast Maintenance Phase, and really enjoyed this story of her anonymous rise to fame:

She gained the kind of attention and success most writers would gnaw their arms off for, all while working a regular office job at a nonprofit where no one knew about her increasingly successful side-gig — the Clark Kent to Your Fat Friend’s Superman. “All day during work, I would go into a half-hour- or an hourlong meeting, and then I would come out and I would have hundreds of notifications of like, Roxane Gay sharing a piece, or James Corden sharing a piece, or Gavin Newsom sharing a piece,” she says. “It just blew up.”

https://www.bustle.com/wellness/maintenance-phase-aubrey-gordon

Here's a Reductress article that definitely isn't about any of us, so you can just go right ahead and enjoy it:

“When I lost my job last November, I couldn’t see a way out of my despair,” Georgina continued, even though no one asked her to. “Then we hung out, and you told me you’d just beaten level 763 of Candy Crush. All of a sudden, I remembered: I have a lot to live for! Thanks, man!”

https://reductress.com/post/report-you-are-the-friend-who-makes-everyone-else-feel-better-about-their-own-lives/

Love,

Alex.