#feministfriday episode 455 | duckling

Good afternoon everyone,

It's been ages since I did a one-link Fem Fri, so I hope you're up for that today. It's a link that is well worth clicking, because it's a lovely story about being… recognised as fully yourself. Thank you to the friend and subscriber who sent this to me! Settle in:

When E. Jean peeked around the cubicle wall and told me she needed my help finding young people my age with problems, I nearly threw myself on her bosom to cry out my own woes.  I didn’t, but I am sure she knew exactly what they were.  She pulled up a chair and explained that she needed letters from “women like you.”  Without underlining the obvious fact that I was a duckling among swans, E. Jean assured me that my life was interesting.  That I had friends whose problems would be more than just “boyfriend and clothing stuff.”

https://avidly.lareviewofbooks.org/2023/05/10/e-jean-carroll-bought-me-a-dress/

Love,

Alex.